Dr. James Reddan

DEPARTMENT HEAD

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF CHORAL ACTIVITIES & CHORAL CONDUCTING
Choral Ensembles – Choral Conducting – Choral Music Education

DMA | Boston University | SH 124 | 503-838-8802 reddanj@wou.edu

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award (2021)

Dr. Dirk Freymuth

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
Audio Production – Early Music Ensemble – Musicology

DMA | University of Southern California | APS 233A | 503-838-8874 freymutd@wou.edu

Dr. Claire Hudkins

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – NTT
Vocal Performance – Lyric Diction – Vocal Jazz Ensemble

DMA | University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music | SH 102B | 503-838-9365 hudkinsc@wou.edu

Dr. Keith Karns

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – NTT: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL JAZZ & COMMERCIAL MUSIC
Jazz Orchestra – Latin Music Ensemble – Improvisation – Trumpet

DMA | University of North Texas | APS 229 | 503-838-8541 karnsk@wou.edu

Dr. Kellen King

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – NTT
Percussion Ensemble – Applied Percussion Performance

DMA | University of Texas, Austin | SH 105 | 503-838-8461 kingk@wou.edu

Jackie Ortiz Morelli

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – NTT: COLLABORATIVE PIANIST
Accompanying – Piano Performance – Piano Proficiency

MM | University of Oregon | APS 231 | 503-838-8276 morellj@wou.edu

Dr. James “Ike” Nail

PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC
Instrumental Conducting – Wind Ensemble – String Ensemble – Instrumental Music Education

DMA | University of Texas, Austin | SH 102A | 503-838-8341 naili@wou.edu

Oregon Symphony Association Music Educator of the Year (2009)
Oregon Music Educators Association Music Educator of the Year (2014)

Dr. Carlos Velez

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – NTT
Theory – Aural Skills – Flute Performance – Composition

DMA | Cleveland Institute of Music | SH 101 | 503-838-8437 velezc@wou.edu

Dr. Kevin Walczyk

PROFESSOR

Composition – Jazz Arranging – Film Scoring – Orchestration – Notation
DMA | University of North Texas | APS 228 | 503-838-8274 keveli@wou.edu

Pastega Award for Excellence in Scholarship (2015)
Pastega Award for Excellence in Teaching (1999)
Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award (2009)
NACADA Outstanding Faculty Academic Advising Certificate of Merit (2009)

PROFESSIONAL PUBLICATIONS

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTORS

Ken Anoe | anoek@wou.edu | jazz bass

Bethany Evans | evansb@wou.edu | harp

Kiersten Garber | garberk@wou.edu | strings

Holly Hang | hangh@wou.edu | clarinet

Mike Moore | mikem@thelmas.com | audio production

Dr. Charles Mueller | muellerc@wou.edu | musicology

Sam Reidreids@wou.edu | saxophone

Matt Sazima | sazimam@mail.wou.edu | jazz piano

Dax Smith | smithjd@wou.edu | music in the elementary classroom

Dr. Eric Wallace | wallacee@wou.edu | low brass & brass ensemble

Ethan Wilson | wilsone@wou.edu | audio production

Christopher Woitach | woitachc@wou.edu | jazz guitar

CONNECT WITH US

JULIA FRUIT
program & facilities coordinator
(503) 838-8461
e-mail: music@wou.edu
Rice Auditorium 101

In-Person Office Hours:

M-F 8:00AM - 5:00PM