Click to chat with Creative ArtsAsk WOU
Ask WOU
Click to email Creative Arts We're offline, but you can email us (janovid@wou.edu) and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC FACULTY


Dr. Diane BaxterDr. Diane Baxter

PROFESSOR: Piano – Collaborative Piano – Ethnomusicology – Performance Anxiety

DMA | University of Oregon

APS 232 | 503-838-8542 baxterd@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1993 & 2005

Dr. Dirk Freymuth

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR: Audio Production – Early Music Ensemble – Musicology

DMA | University of Southern California

APS 233A | 503-838-8874 freymutd@wou.edu

http://dirkfreymuth.com

Dr. Kevin Helppie

PROFESSOR: Voice – Opera Workshop

DMA | University of Washington

APS 233B | 503-838-8876 helppik@wou.edu

Dr. Keith Karns

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL JAZZ & COMMERCIAL MUSIC Jazz Orchestra – Latin Music Ensemble – Improvisation – Trumpet

DMA | University of North Texas

APSC 229 | 503-838-8541 karnsk@wou.edu

Dr. James “Ike” Nail

PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC Instrumental Conducting – Western Oregon Winds – Instrumental Music Education

DMA | University of Texas, Austin

SH 102A | 503-838-8341 naili@wou.edu

Dr. James Reddan

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF CHORAL ACTIVITIES & CHORAL CONDUCTING Choral Ensembles – Choral Conducting – Choral Music Education

DMA | Boston University

SH 124 | 503-838-8802 reddanj@wou.edu

Dr. Carlos Velez

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Theory – Aural Skills – Composition – Flute Performance

DMA | Cleveland Institute of Music

SH 101 | 503-838-8437 velezc@wou.edu

Dr. Kevin Walczyk

PROFESSOR: Composition – Jazz Arranging – Film Scoring – Notation

DMA | University of North Texas

APS 228 | 503-838-8274 keveli@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1999 & 2015

 


NTT Faculty & INSTRUCTORS


Dr. Claire Hudkins

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Voice

DMA | University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music

SH 102B | 503-838-9365 hudkinsc@wou.edu

Dr. Kellen King

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Percussion – Percussion Ensemble – Beginning Musicianship

DMA | The University of Texas at Austin

SH 105 | 503-838-9448 kingk@wou.edu

Sopon Suwannakit

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Jazz Studies – Jazz History – Jazz Piano

MM | University of North Texas

CH 005 | 503-838-9459 suwannakits@wou.edu

soponsuwannakit.com

Additional contact information and links for NTT Faculty & Instructors including professional websites:
Aaron Barnhartbarnharta@wou.edu | audio production
Kiersten Garber | garberk@wou.edu | strings & string ensemble
Mike Moore | mikem@thelmas.com | audio production
Dr. Charles Mueller | muellerc@wou.edu | musicology & contemporary readings
Ben Protheroe | protheroeb@wou.edu | athletic bands & drumline
Sam Reid | reids@wou.edu | saxophone
Dax Smith | smithjd@wou.edu | music in the classroom
Eric Wallace | wallacee@wou.edu | low brass & brass ensemble
Ethan Wilson | wilsone@wou.edu | audio production


Music Department | Smith Hall | music@wou.edu | 503-838-8275