Campus Public Safety

Home » Parking Services

Menu

Parking Services: 503-838-8267 | Campus Public Safety: 503-838-8481

No permit enforcement after 6 p.m.

Parking availability
Approximately 2,400 individual parking spaces are available on the 157-acre Western Oregon University campus for the convenience of faculty, staff, students and guests. 20 paved lots, strategically located, are always open. Metered spaces for guests and short-term parking are marked in each major lot.

Parking privileges
Use of parking lots is extended to all employees and students of Western Oregon University. Authority to establish regulations governing the use of motor vehicles on WOU’s campus is derived from Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 352.360, action by the Western Oregon University Board of Trustees. Enforcement of these regulations is necessary to minimize congestion, maintain and enhance safety and security, and maximize the use of existing parking facilities. Permits are required except in metered spaces.
Permits are available for purchase from Parking Services at Campus
Public Safety.

NEW PARKING FEES AND LOT DESIGNATIONS:

DECAL PERMIT FEES

MISCELLANEOUS PAPER PERMIT FEES

Term permit (12 weeks) $100 (ZONE 1)
$40 (ZONE 2)

Zone 2 only:

Monthly permit (31 days) $30
Weekly permit (5 days) $10
Daily permit $2

 

Biker locker rental

Term permit $20
Annual $60
Deposit (refundable) $25

 

WOU is an accredited, affirmative action, equal opportunity institution of higher education. “Request for Accommodation” forms should be submitted in advance to Parking Services, 503838-8267.

2019-20

Parking Services

Parking Services: 503-838-8267    Campus Public Safety: 503-838-8481    wou.edu/parking

No permit enforcement after 6 p.m.

Parking availability
Approximately 2,400 individual parking spaces are available on the 157-acre Western Oregon University campus for the convenience of faculty, staff, students and guests. 20 paved lots, strategically located, are always open. Metered spaces for guests and short-term parking are marked in each major lot.

Parking privileges
Use of parking lots is extended to all employees and students of Western Oregon University. Authority to establish regulations governing the use of motor vehicles on WOU’s campus is derived from Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 352.360, action by the Western Oregon University Board of Trustees. Enforcement of these regulations is necessary to minimize congestion, maintain and enhance safety and security, and maximize the use of existing parking facilities. Permits are required except in metered spaces. Permits are available for purchase from Parking Services at Campus Public Safety.

GENERAL PARKING REGULATIONS

All members of the university community are responsible to read and know the regulations for driving and parking on campus. Any questions regarding these regulations should be addressed to Parking Services at 503-838-8267 or parking@wou.edu.

Parking on campus

  • All vehicles parked in campus lots must display a current WOU parking permit.
  • Lack of a parking space, or an overabundance of parking spaces, is not a valid excuse for violating any WOU parking regulation.
  • Vehicles must be parked within indicated parking spaces.
  • Parking in angled spaces is head-in-only.
  • Permit, meter and correct lot requirements are enforced daily until 6 p.m. All other parking regulations are enforced 24/7 (24 hours per day/seven days a week).
  • Permit, meter and correct lot requirements are suspended during the following holidays: New Year’s Day; Martin Luther King Day; Memorial Day; Independence Day; Labor Day; Thanksgiving Day and the day after; and Christmas Day when classes are suspended.
  • If a driver leaves the scene while being issued a citation, it will be recorded and the registered owner will be responsible for the fine.

Disabled parking

Parking spaces for persons with disabilities meets or exceeds the state requirements of ORS 447.233 for disabled parking availability. Violation of these statutes will result in a fine as specified in ORS 811.625. Persons with disable placards, permits or license plates are required to purchase or have on their vehicles a valid WOU parking permit.

  • Those with a state issued disability placard or a temporary disability placard (issued by Parking Services) and valid WOU permit are allowed to park in any disability spaces in any lot on campus.
  • If someone has a state issued disability placard, they are allowed to park in a meter space without paying the meter. The state issued disability placard must be displayed.

 

Driving on campus

The speed limit in all campus parking lots is 10 miles per hour.

  • Observe speed limits, barricades, bicycle lanes, crosswalks, traffic signs and disabled spaces.
  • Driving or parking vehicles, bicycles, motorcycles, mopeds, scooters or other motorized vehicles on sidewalks and lawns is prohibited (service vehicles exempted).

Other regulations

  • Metered spaces are for drivers who do not possess a valid campus permit. Unless there is valid time on the meter, permitted and “E” plate vehicles may not park in metered spaces. Vehicles at meters are checked and subject to citation every two hours, Monday through Friday until 6 p.m.
  • WOU assumes no liability for personal injury or for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents while the vehicle is operated or parked on campus.
  • Bike lockers are available for rent on either a term or yearly basis. They are located behind Bellamy Hall, Academic Programs & Service Center, Lieuallen Administration and Education.
  • Bicycles (with the exception of Public Safety officer bikes) are not permitted in buildings at any time.
  • Persons whose vehicles have broken down on campus must notify Public Safety immediately to avoid citation. Officers will attempt to aid those individuals.
  • Major mechanical repairs to vehicles on campus are prohibited.
  • Vehicles abandoned or inoperable on campus for more than 72 hours may be towed at owner’s expense. Unlicensed vehicles and those with expired vehicle registrations will be considered abandoned and subject to removal at the owner’s expense.

Penalties and fines

No permit (6 a.m. to 6 p.m. / Monday-Friday) $35
Reserved space/loading/15- or 30-minute zones $35
Fire lanes and driveways $50
Misuse or altered permit $45
Expired meter $25
Parking on grass/sidewalks $35
Failure to comply with street/lot signs (stop, yield) $40
Not a designated stall $20
Wrong lot $15
Permit not properly displayed/affixed to vehicle $15
Vehicle impoundment/boot $75
Disabled space (ORS 811.615) $165
Blocking disabled space/area $55
Other $25

*If not paid within 10 business days, an additional $10 processing fee will be charged.

OBTAINING A PERMIT

A variety of permits are available to suit the various parking needs of faculty, staff, students and guests. Permits are serialized and must be used on the vehicle that a driver registers at the time of purchase. There are several types of permits that may be purchased.

 

Decal permits

Permits are available for purchase online. Decal permits have an adhesive backing and must be permanently placed on the outside of the vehicle on the left rear bumper or left rear window to be valid and avoid citation. Hangtag permits must be hung on the rearview mirror facing the front windshield and clearly visible from the outside. Do not tape to the inside of the windshield. Please remove the hangtag from the mirror when driving. Decal permits are available to faculty, staff and students as follows:*

ZONE 1 (Red permit, may park in ZONE 1 or ZONE 2 lots)

Fall term: $150/$162 (full academic year)
Winter term: $120/$132 (prorated)
Spring term: $90/$102 (prorated)                                        Summer term: $60/$72 (prorated)

ZONE 2 (Black permit, park in ZONE 2 lots only)

Fall term: $60/$72 (full academic year)
Winter term: $55/$67 (prorated)
Spring term: $45/$57 (prorated)
Summer term: $40/$52 (prorated)

RESIDENTIAL ZONE 1 (White permit, may park in any RESIDENTIAL ZONE lot)

Fall term: $125/$137 (full academic year)
Winter term: $110/$122 (prorated)
Spring term: $95/$107 (prorated)
Summer term: $80/$92 (prorated)

RESIDENTIAL ZONE 2 (Gray permit, may park in RESIDENTIAL ZONE 2 lots only)

Fall term: $60/$72 (full academic year)
Winter term: $55/$67 (prorated)
Spring term: $45/$57(prorated)
Summer term: $40/$52 (prorated)

 

All secondary permits: $10
All replacement permits: $10/$22

 

*Note: $XX/$XX = (Decal/Hang Tag)

MOTORCYCLE ONLY PERMITS (ZONE 1 only)
Fall term: $80 (full academic year)
Winter term: $75 (prorated)
Spring term: $70 (prorated)
Summer term: $65 (prorated)

TERM PERMITS (12 weeks): ZONE 1: $100; ZONE 2: $40 Term and zone must be written on the Loaner/day permit along with the amount being charged before being provided to the individual.

MONTHLY PERMIT (31 days): $30, ZONE 2 only

WEEKLY PERMIT (five days): $10, ZONE 2 only

DAILY PERMIT: $2, ZONE 2 only. You can upgrade from a ZONE 2 to a ZONE 1 permit but you cannot downgrade from a ZONE 1 permit to a ZONE 2 permit. The cost is the difference between the two permits at the time of the upgrade.

 

Other permits

SECONDARY VEHICLE PERMIT. If you periodically drive an alternate vehicle, you may purchase a secondary permit with proof of original vehicle registration. Both vehicles must be registered to you or your parents. If the permitted vehicle is registered to another student/staff/faculty or their family your account will automatically be charged the amount of the full year permit at the time the permit was purchased. If both vehicles are on campus at the same time, original full-year permits are required on each vehicle. You may be cited for misuse of a permit if you do not have a registered full-year permit on file. Individuals with a hang tag permit are not allowed to purchase a secondary permit (unless it is for a motorcycle).

MOTORCYCLE/SCOOTER PERMITS. Special permits are available for purchase when parking in special motorcycle stalls, however a regular full-year permit must be purchased if using a regular vehicle space.

REPLACEMENT PERMIT. A replacement decal permit is required to be purchased for a new vehicle (if the old one is sold), if your permit is lost or stolen, or vehicle is damaged, requiring a new permit. Decal permits are not interchangeable between vehicles. The replacement permit must be returned if the owner requests a refund.

EMERITUS PERMIT. Retired faculty or staff with at least 10 years of service may apply to receive one free parking permit. Any additional permits must be purchased. No current employee or student may use an emeritus permit. (ZONE 1)

Loaner vehicle permit

If you have a primary decal permit, you may park an alternate vehicle on campus for up to 15 days per year at no extra cost. The loaner vehicle permit may be obtained at the Cashiers Office, Public Safety or the Residential Service Center. After 15 days, the permit owner will be notified via email. At this time a secondary vehicle permit or a day permit must be purchased to park on campus. All days used over the allotted 15 days will be charged to your account. Note: Hang tag permits are not eligible for a free loaner vehicle permit. A $2 daily charge will be assessed.

Visitor/conference permits

GUEST PERMITS. These are available at the Campus Public Safety Office and most campus departments. They are provided at no charge to one-day visitors only. After the first day, one day permits may be purchased at the Cashiers’ Office. (Persons who are staff, faculty or students or are here on official business are not considered guests.) Departments are responsible for ensuring their guests have parking permits. A guest can only be issued one permit within a 15-day timeframe. Valid in ZONE 2 lots only.

PARENT PERMITS. Permits are available at Public Safety at no charge. They are valid for 10 days per term and are only issued to parents. Parent (or Grandparent) permits are only issued by Parking Services and Campus Public Safety. They are allowed 10 visits each term. Each parent (or Grandparent) can obtain a Parent permit each term. Free of charge, ZONE 2 lots only CONFERENCE/WORKSHOP PERMITS. Departments or organizations holding or sponsoring workshops, seminars, meetings or events are responsible for parking permits for participants. Group parking rates and permits are available at Parking Services and must be arranged in advance. Valid in ZONE 2 lots only.

COMMUNITY MEMBER PARKING PERMITS. Free of charge, but must to be renewed each term. Valid in ZONE 2 lots only,

CHEMEKETA COMMUNITY COLLEGE PARKING PERMITS. Valid in ZONE 2 lots only; however a WOU ZONE 1 lot permit can be purchased in order to park in ZONE 1 lots.

NO PERMIT ENFORCEMENT AFTER 6 PM.

Related parking information

APPEALS. Persons wishing to appeal a citation may have it reviewed administratively or request to appear in person before the Parking Review Committee (fall through spring terms only). Full payment must occur prior to appealing the citation. All appeals must be received at Parking Services within 10 business days of the citation. Appeal forms may be obtained at the Cashiers Office, Public Safety or online. (Appeals will not be reviewed after 10 business days.)

COMPACT VEHICLE PARKING. Vehicles parked in spaces marked “COMPACT” must not exceed 5 feet 6 inches in height and 15 feet 6 inches in length.

MULTIPLE CITATIONS. When a vehicle has been issued a citation and the driver is aware of it and does not take steps to correct the violation immediately, a second citation may be issued.

OVERNIGHT PARKING. Because of limited parking spaces on campus and to manage the parking needs of the entire parking community, overnight parking is allowed in lots B, J, G, O, S only. No overnight parking is allowed in any other lots without authorization from Parking Services. Citations may be issued.

PARKING REVIEW COMMITTEE. The Parking Review Committee is comprised of faculty, staff and students. They are an advisory  group to Parking Services and review citation appeals, and meets fall through spring terms. Parking recommendations may be submitted to: Parking Review Committee, Parking Services, Western Oregon University, 345 Monmouth Ave. N., Monmouth, OR 97361.

PERMIT REMOVAL If you need to remove a decal permit from your vehicle for any reason, apply heat to the permit using a hair dryer or similar device and begin peeling from one corner. It should remove easily, however it may not be legally placed on another vehicle. Return the permit to Parking Services if applying for a replacement permit or prorated permit refund.

RECREATIONAL VEHICLES (RVS). City of Monmouth ordinance prohibits RVs and trailers from parking overnight for the purpose of staying or dwelling in the vehicle while parked on campus. Temporary arrangements will be made in a designated area.

TEMPORARY DISABILITY PERMITS. Permits for mobility-type injury or illness may be issued upon request from Parking Services. If requested for more than a week, a note from your physician is required.

TOWING/BOOTING. Vehicles may be booted or towed at the owner’s expense for unpaid citations; stolen or misused permit; arrest for criminal trespass or in violation of ORS criminal incident; if an emergency exists; blocking vehicle or pedestrian traffic; and/or abandoned vehicle.

UNPAID FINES. Failure to pay fines will result in fines being placed on accounts receivable (subject to interest on account balance) and notification to Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles, Oregon Department of Revenue and collection agencies when applicable. A $10 fee is added if the fine is not paid within 10 business days of the issue date of the citation.

VEHICLE ASSISTS. Campus officers may assist drivers with battery jumps, unlocks, flat tires and gas can loans if the vehicle is parked on campus property with a valid permit. Drivers must sign a release of any liability to WOU and its employees. Identification must be provided and the driver present at the scene.

VEHICLE MESSAGES. If a motorist wishes to inform an officer or attendant about a vehicle or arrangements regarding parking, he/ she must contact Parking Services or Campus Public Safety with the information to avoid citation. Officers are not at liberty to respond to notes left on vehicles to avoid citation.

 

TERM, MONTH, SECONDARY AND REPLACEMENT PERMITS ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

PERMIT REFUNDS. Permit refunds for decal full-year permits are provided on a prorated basis through winter term only, with the return of all permits. If a permit is issued and returned for a refund a $10 service charge will be charged. If a permit is still in the original packaging and can be re-issued then a full refund will be issued.

Free guest parking passes

If you’re just visiting us for the day – or even a couple of hours – pick up a free guest pass from the building you’re
visiting. Campus Public Safety is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If a guest parking pass is needed before, during or after hours stop by Campus Public Safety to obtain one. Contact Parking Services at 503-838-8267 or email parking@wou.edu. For more information on parking options, go online to: wou.edu/safety.

Payroll deduction

Faculty and staff may take advantage of the Payroll Deduction Plan. To use this plan, you must apply for your permit no later than Oct. 10. You may select a onetime deduction or make payments over three months. A secondary permit may be purchased using payroll deduction one time only.

Contact

 

Office of Public Safety
(503) 838-8481 | or email: safety@wou.edu

Parking Services
(503) 838-8267 | or e-mail: parking@wou.edu | Hours: 8am-5pm