Faculty

Specialty, Advising, Research, and Contact Information

Ava
Ava Howard, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department Head, Biology
Specialties: Plant Physiology, Plant Ecology
Advises: Botany Focus, General Biology Focus
Office: NS 120; Email: howarda@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8702

Mike B

Michael Baltzley, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Cell Biology, Comparative Anatomy and Physiology, Neurobiology
Advises: Aquarium Science, Pre-Medicine
Office: DFSC 114; Emailbaltzlem@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8832

Erin
Erin Baumgartner, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Science Education, Fish Biology, Behavioral Ecology
Advises: Education
Office: AC 129; Emailbaumgare@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8348

Sarah
Sarah Boomer, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Microbiology
Advises: Pre-Dental, Pre-Medicine
Office: NS 219; Email: boomers@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8209

Dawson (1)
James Dawson, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties: Avian Behavior and Ecology, Environmental Education
Office: NS 002; Email: dawsonj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9225

Bryan
Bryan Dutton, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Plant Systematics, Evolution
Advises: Pre-Biology, Botany Focus
Office: Ns 021; Email: duttonb@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8452

BertAndKaren
Karen Haberman, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Aquatic Ecology
Advises: Aquarium Science, Pre-Veterinary Medicine, Natural History/Field Biology Focus
Office: NS 001; Email: habermk@wou.edu;
Phone: (503) 838-8478

Anna
Anna Hardin, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Human Anatomy, Skeletal Morphology, Primate Evolution, Quantitative Genetics
Office: DFSC 109; Email: hardina@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9718

Amy
Amy Harwell, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Vertebrate Functional Morphology, Dinosaur Biology, Human Anatomy and Physiology, Science Education
Advises: Human Biology Minor
Office: DFSC 118; Emailharwella@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8891

Gareth Hopkins
Gareth Hopkins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Specialties: Ecology, Evolution, Behavior, Conservation, Herpetology, Entomology
Advises: Pre-Biology, Natural History/Field Biology Focus
Office: NS 021B; Emailhopkinsg@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-9395

melissa
Melissa Kelley, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Developmental Biology, Genetics, Cell and Molecular Biology
Office: NS 117; Email: kelleym@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9312

Kristin
Kristin Latham-Scott, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Molecular Biology
Advises: Pre-Pharmacy, Molecular/Cell Focus, Pre-Medical Technician/Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: NS 223; Emaillathamscottk@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8868

Mike M
Michael LeMaster, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Vertebrate Anatomy and Physiology, Chemical Ecology, Endocrinology
Advises: Pre-Physician Assistant, Pre-Medical Technician/Clinical Laboratory Science, Pre-Optometry, Radiology Technician
Office: DFSC 115; Email: lemastm@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8136

macdonas
Scott Macdonald, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties: Human Anatomy and Physiology
Office: DFSC 117; Email: macdonas@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8337

Steve
Stephen Scheck, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Animal Physiology, Environmental Physiology
Advises: Pre-Biology
Office: NS 221; Email: schecks@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8277

Jeff Snyder
Jeffrey Snyder, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Ecology, Environmental History, Avian Ecology, Endangered Species Conservation & Restoration
Office: NS 218; Email: snyderj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8224

Staff

Piper
Piper Mueller-Warrant, B.S., Biology Lab Preparator
Biology 200 Series, Biology Department Laboratory Coordination
Office: NS 119; Email: muellerp@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8859

Julie
Julie Grammer, B.S., Biology Lab Preparator
Biology 100 Series Laboratory Preparator
Office: NS 121; Email: grammerj@wou.edu; Phone:(503) 838-8877

 

CONTACT US

Biology Department

503-838-8452 | or e-mail: duttonb@wou.edu