Western Oregon University celebrates over 50 new Diversity Scholars 

MONMOUTH, Ore.Western Oregon University’s Multicultural Student Services and Programs (MSSP) hosted its annual Diversity Scholars recognition celebration for the 2023-2024 academic year, dedicated to celebrating students’ academic excellence and commitment to diversity.

The event was emceed by America Salazar, a junior and the Multicultural Coordinator, along with Louie Arce, the assistant director of MSSP. President Jesse Peters and Provost Jose Coll warmly welcomed the gathering, and the audience was treated to a captivating performance by Destiny Cannaday, a 2022 scholar, and fellow student Rosabelle Surla.

The evening’s inspirational keynote address was delivered by Michael Waller, a 2008 alumnus and former scholar, and an inspiring essay written by 2023 scholar Julia Ros, was shared. The presentation of certificates was carried out by Anna Hernandez-Hunter, the director of MSSP.

Hernandez-Hunter expressed deep pride in the accomplished scholars, remarking, “I am immensely proud of our students for their dedication in attaining these scholarships. A significant number of our Diversity Scholars are first-generation college students, embarking on a distinctive journey in higher education, one that promises to leave a lasting, positive impact on both their own lives and their families.”

The event concluded with remarks from Luanne Carrillo-Avalos, the assistant director of MSSP, and Blanca Miranda Aguilar, the program advisor and coordinator of MSSP.

The Diversity Scholars recipients are listed below:

Ahmani Hopoi

Alejandra Ceja Montes

Alondra Martinez 

Andrea Ambrocio Reyes

Andy Ruiz Perez

Arianna Velasco 

Atlas Jimenez-Sprague 

Belen Santiago Hernandez 

Blanca Avila 

Bobby Barnaby Bryce

Brenda Garcia Garibay

Cathlene Hermann

Cheydon Herkshan

Daisia Fulton

Danni Wilson

Daphne Cruzana

Diana Heintz-Rios

Elizabeth Alvarez-Mendoza

Elizabeth Morales-Marquez

Ellyana Suek*

Emma Higashi

Erick Gonzalez-Bejar

Erika Caldera Chairez

Esvin Sanchez Mendez

Ho’ala K. Meyer

JaKari Weeks 

Jason Magana Velasquez

Jesus Guerrero Vazquez

Julia Ros

Karen Yanelis Garcia

Kimberely Machorro

Koffi Kouame 

Maria Guadalupe Mendoza-Ceja

Mateo Maga

Maz Robinson

Monica Cuatra Flores

Nancy Mota Gonzalez 

Nathan Hurtado

Nicolas Landazuri 

Nimsi Arellano

Noah Scott

Noel Alvarez

Olivia Anderson

Osvaldo Ascencio-Mendoza

Perla San Miguel Morales

Quincy Alexandra Bravo Lope

Raul Yahir Perez

Remedan Seman

Sandra Madrigal Nava

Tamerra-Maritza Cervantes Carlos 

Tiffany Nash 

Tobias Regan-Vienop


About Western Oregon University

Western Oregon University, founded in 1856 in Monmouth, is the state’s oldest public university. Serving about 4,000 students, WOU is a mid-sized, NCAA Division II institution with about 70% of the student population being from Oregon. A significant portion of attendees are members of under-represented groups, veterans, or non-traditional students. WOU is Oregon’s campus of choice for those seeking a transformative education in a supportive, student-centered learning community where classes are taught by faculty. Together we succeed.

You May Also Like…


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.