` Western Oregon University celebrates staff and faculty leadership, promotions and tenure at annual ceremony - Western Oregon University

Western Oregon University celebrates staff and faculty leadership, promotions and tenure at annual ceremony

Pictured: From left to right: These individuals were recognized for 15 years of service: Ashley Schaumburg, Shawn Sellers, Michael Rose, Jenna Otto, Anna Mahony, Michael Freeman, President Peters, Julie Grammer, and Carmen Caceda.

MONMOUTH, Ore. – Western Oregon University recently honored staff and faculty at the annual recognition ceremony and reception for their outstanding leadership, tenure achievements, promotions, and Emeritus status. Staff and faculty were also recognized for their involvement in securing grants and for years of service at the university.  Below are the names of the award and promotion recipients. View the grants and years of service recognition list.

Leadership Awards

ASWOU President
Hunter Hall

Faculty Senate President
Dr. Stephen Scheck, Biology

Outgoing Staff Senate President
Adrian Trujillo, Student Success and Advising

Mario & Alma Pastega Staff Excellence
LouAnn Vickers, The President’s Office

Mario & Alma Pastega: Excellence in Scholarship & Creativity
Dr. Patricia Goldsworthy-Bishop, History

Mario & Alma Pastega: Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Brooke Nott, Psychological Sciences

Mario & Alma Pastega: Excellence in Service
Dr. Earlene Camarillo, Politics, Policy, and Administration

Faculty Advisor of the Year
Dr. Kevin Walczyk, Music

Staff Advisor of the Year
Andres Hernandez-Galvan, Student Enrichment Program

Tenure & Promotion

Promoted to Associate Professor & Awarded Tenure
Dr. Shari Hopkins, Education & Leadership

Promoted to Professor
Dr. Dana Schowalter, Communication
Dr. Joshua Schulze, Education & Leadership
Dr. Tad Shannon, Computer Science
Daniel Tankersly, Creative Arts
Dr.  Emily Vala-Haynes, Health & Exercise Science

Awarded Tenure
Chelle Batchelor, Library & Academic Innovation
Dr. Shaun Hansen, Business/Economics

Emeritus Awardees:

Dean Braa, Sociology
Laurie Burton, Mathematics
George Cabrera, Education & Leadership
David Hargreaves, English Studies
Mark Henkels, Politics, Policy & Administration
John Leadley, Business & Economics
Frank Nevius, Communication
Cornelia Paraskevas, English Studies
Adele Schepige, Education & Leadership


About Western Oregon University

Western Oregon University, established in Monmouth in 1856, proudly stands as Oregon’s oldest public university. Hosting around 4,000 students, Western embodies a mid-sized, NCAA Division II institution, with approximately 80% of its students hailing from within the state. Notably, its diverse student body comprises individuals from underrepresented backgrounds, veterans, and non-traditional learners. Western stands as the preferred campus in Oregon for those pursuing an enriching education within a nurturing, student-focused environment, characterized by faculty-led instruction.  Where YOU belong.

You May Also Like…


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.