

EXECUTIVE SESSION OF THE WESTERN OREGON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MTG NO. 47—APRIL 14, 2022 11:00 AM-2:00 PM HAMERSLY LIBRARY ROOM 301-A

<u>MINUTES</u>

(1) CALL-TO-MEETING AND ROLL CALL

Chair Betty Komp called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM and asked Secretary Ryan Hagemann to take roll. The following trustees were present:

Zellee Allen
Jerry Ambris
Jaime Arredondo
Danielle Campbell
Susan Castillo
Gayle Evans
David Foster
Betty Komp
Cec Koontz
Malissa Larson
Leah Mitchell

The following trustees were absent:

Linda Herrera Jay Kenton Doug Morse

After roll, Chair Komp asked Hagemann to move the meeting into executive session. Hagemann announced that the Board was meeting in executive session pursuant to Oregon Revised Statutes 192.660(2)(a) in order to consider the employment of a public official. Other than the Board, designated staff and the presidential candidates were permitted to attend the executive session. Pursuant to ORS 192.660(4), members of the institutionalized news media were permitted to attend on the express condition that matters and deliberations discussed during the executive session would remain

undisclosed. Pursuant to ORS 192.660(6), no final decision may or will be made in executive session.

The Board moved to interview presidential candidate Dr. Sukhwant Jhaj consistent with ORS 192.660(2)(a).

Chair Komp adjourned the meeting for lunch.

After lunch, at 1:01PM, Chair Komp reminded the Board that it remained in executive session and that the previous announcements regarding ORS 192.660(2)(a) still pertained. Chair Komp asked Hagemann to confirm the attendance of the trustees. All trustees present at the outset of the session were present and all trustees that were absent remained absent.

The Board continued the executive session with its interview of Dr. Jesse Peters, the final presidential candidate, consistent with ORS 192.660(2)(a).

After the interviews, Chair Komp adjourned the executive session at 2:02 PM with a quorum of the Board.

RYAN JAMES HAGEMANN

Secretary to the Board of Trustees