Faculty

 

Specialty, Advising, Research, and Contact Information

 

Mike B

Michael Baltzley, Ph.D., Professor
Department Head, Biology
Specialties: Cell Biology, Comparative Anatomy and Physiology, Neurobiology
Advises: Pre-Medicine
Office: DFSC 114; Emailbaltzlem@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8832

 

Erin
Erin Baumgartner, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Science Education, Fish Biology, Behavioral Ecology
Office: ITC 205C; Emailbaumgare@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8348

 

Sarah
Sarah Boomer, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Microbiology
Advises: Pre-Dental, Pre-Dental Hygiene, Pre-Medicine
Office: Ed 163; Email: boomers@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8209

 

Dawson (1)
James Dawson, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties: Avian Behavior and Ecology, Environmental Education
Office: NS 002; Email: dawsonj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9225

 

Bryan
Bryan Dutton, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Plant Systematics, Evolution
Advises: Pre-Biology, Botany Focus, Pre-Optometry
Office: Ed 123; Email: duttonb@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8452

 

BertAndKaren
Karen Haberman, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Aquatic Ecology
Advises: Pre-Medical Technician/Laboratory Science, Pre-Veterinary Medicine, Natural History / Field Biology Focus, General Biology Focus, Zoology Focus
Office: NS 001; Email: habermk@wou.edu;
Phone: (503) 838-8478

 

Amy
Amy Harwell, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Vertebrate Functional Morphology, Dinosaur Biology, Human Anatomy and Physiology, Science Education
Advises: Human Biology Minor
Office: DFSC 118; Emailharwella@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8891

 

WOU logo
Gareth Hopkins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Specialties: Ecology, Evolution, Behavior, Conservation, Herpetology, Entomology
Advises: Pre-Biology
Office: NS 021B; Emailhopkinsg@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-9395

 

Ava
Ava Howard, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Specialties: Plant Physiology, Plant Ecology
Advises: Botany Focus, General Biology Focus, Natural History / Field Biology Focus
Office: NS 120; Email: howarda@wou.edu; Phone: (503)838-8702

 

melissa
Melissa Kelley, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Developmental Biology, Genetics, Cell and Molecular Biology
Office: NS 117; Email: kelleym@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9312

 

Kristin
Kristin Latham-Scott, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Molecular Biology
Advises: Pre-Pharmacy, Molecular/Cell Focus
Office: Ed 165; Emaillathamscottk@wou.eduPhone: (503) 838-8868

 

john
John Laundre, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Mammalian Ecology and Behavior, Predator Prey Dynamics
Office: NS 220; Email: laundrej@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8036

 

Mike M
Michael LeMaster, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Vertebrate Anatomy and Physiology, Chemical Ecology, Endocrinology
Advises: Pre-Physician Assistant, Pre-Clinical Laboratory Science, Pre-Optometry
Office: DFSC 115; Email: lemastm@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8136

 

macdonas
Scott Macdonald, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties: Human Anatomy and Physiology
Office: DFSC 117; Email: macdonas@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8337

 

Steve
Stephen Scheck, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Animal Physiology, Environmental Physiology
Advises: Pre-Biology
Office: NS 221; Email: schecks@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8277

 

Jeff Snyder
Jeffrey Snyder, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Ecology, Environmental History, Avian Ecology, Endangered Species Conservation & Restoration
Office: Ed 162; Email: snyderj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8224

 

Staff

 

Piper
Piper Mueller-Warrant, B.S., Biology Lab Preparator
Biology 200 Series, Biology Department Laboratory Coordination
Office: NS 119; Email: muellerp@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8859

 

Julie
Julie Grammer, B.S., Biology Lab Preparator
Biology 100 Series Laboratory Preparator
Office: NS 121; Email: grammerj@wou.edu; Phone:(503) 838-8877

 

 

 

 

 

CONTACT US

Biology Department

503-838-8452 | or e-mail: duttonb@wou.edu